RSS

Juliet Immortal

14 Nov

Title: Juliet Immortal

Author: Stacey Jay

Summary from Goodreads:

 “These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume.”
—Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn’t take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn’t anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she’s fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she’s forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

My Review:
Okay, I know that I have given a lot of negative reviews lately, and I really am sorry about that. I want to give books the benefit of the doubt, but I would rather be honest with my review than to say it has more good qualities than it does and then you might pick it up and hate it just as much as me. All that said, please note that this book has received many good reviews, and my opinions are just that… mine

All of that out of the way, I am just going to lay it out straight… I hated this book. I mean, I really, really disliked it. I read one review that said that if you liked Romeo & Juliet by Shakespeare then you wouldn’t like this, but if you didn’t like Romeo and Juliet then you would like this. I am hear to report that is no true because I dislike Romeo & Juliet (I would not kill myself for love… there is still too much to live for. I also do not like that suicide dressed up all romantic and everything is being taught to impressionable teenagers who already deal with enough angsty things in life) and I also disliked this book a lot!

I was not able to buy into anything in this book. The narrator of this book was Juliet and I understand that she was young when she died, but she has since been around 700 years so you think that she would have matured a little bit, but no, she still came off sounding incredibly immature. Her voice was incredibly annoying to read and so because of that, it was hard for me to feel sympathetic to her at all.

And then there is the love interest. I am just going to disclaimer this by saying that I do not believe in love at first sight. I believe in lust at first sight, but not love. I believe that to love someone… really love them, you have to know them. You can disagree with me or whatever, but that is my personal opinion. And because of that opinion, I was unable to buy into the instant connection and love that happened in this book. And even looking aside from that, I found no chemistry at all between Juliet and Ben. And since so much of this book is based upon the love story, it pretty much killed the book for me.

And then there is Romeo… I really can pretty much not write about Romeo without spoiling the book…

Finally, my thoughts on the “twist” in the book. Can anyone else say they saw that coming a mile away? Because I did. It was pretty much completely obvious. There wasn’t much in this book that wasn’t completely obvious and while that might work for some books, it did not work for this book.

And as one final thought… the ending. It was such a cop out. I mean, like seriously, if you have read this book, you will know what I am talking about. If you haven’t read this book and you plan on it, you will see what I mean…

SPOILER

SPOILER

SPOILER

SPOILER

SPOILER

SPOILER

SPOILER

SPOILER

Multiple realities… SERIOUSLY! That is so weak… so pathetic. And even though Ben does not remember Juliet in the new alternate reality, he again is instantly mesmorized by her? Come on, I wasn’t born yesterday. This book sucked some serious balls, but the ending was the worst. Treat your reader a little better than multiple realities. It would have been just as bad as the whole “oh it was all just a dream” ending that some have tried. If this had been a good book all along (which it wasn’t) that alone would have killed the book in my eyes.

And now I will rant a little about Romeo – All this time with Juliet blaming Romeo, it turned out that he just did it to she would go to heaven and have a good afterlife and she is the one who killed herself, and still she blames him for everything. That ticked me off to no ends. I am a big believer in sacrificial love. I would do almost anything for those few people that I truly love, and that is what Romeo did. It just turns out he sold his soul to the wrong side. But even after Juliet finds that out and finds out that he has loved her all along, she still acts like a little child and it was so aggravating. I felt really bad for Romeo throughout most of the book. I may read the sequel just because it is suppose to be about Romeo and I found him somewhat interesting.

Rating: 0.5

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

One response to “Juliet Immortal

  1. Kathy S

    December 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I got your secret santa package yesterday. I just wanted to say thank you. Those books sound awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

