RSS

Hours 17 – End of Readathon Running Update

21 Apr

Well, I am cohosting the last five hours so there isn’t a point in having an update thread for then so I will just make this post my home base.

Ya’ll, I am in a SLUMP! I haven’t read a think in two and a half hours! I have been surfing the web trying to decide what to read. The real problem is that I allowed myself to have too many choices. Next time I need to severely limit myself or this will happen again. Right now, I am about to run down to 7/11 down the street and pick up a soda. I am hoping that will wake me up and get me out of my slump. I am thinking about reading the first chapter of my books I am debating until one of them grabs ahold of me and forces me to continue reading.

Thanks for following my updates!

Hour 19 Update -

Well, I just re-read the end of The Hunger Games. I was only looking for a small part, but I got pulled into the part I flipped to and ended up reading the rest. lol I think I read about 80 pages. This brings my page total up to 353. I love this series and I really, REALLY need to reread them. I am currently reading Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter.

For snacks – I haven’t really eaten anything. I have been drinking Cheery Sprite, which I love. I am eating a revel bar, but I have just been nibbling on it for about an hour now. I ate a wedge or two of grapefruit.

Hour 20 Update -

Well, I have read 50 pages of Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter. This is a series I really love. I love the Gallagher Girls. I wish I could be a Gallagher Girl. They remind me of Alias, but in a teenage, all-girls boarding school type of way. I have been a fan of strong, female spies since I first fell in love with the show Alias. Jennifer Garner sure knows how to kick some bad guy butt! I wanted to be just like her. Of course, now I have accepted that I will never fit into or have that type of life. I am no genius (like Marshal) and no super spy like Sydney. *Sigh* just thinking about this show makes me want to do a rewatch! Anyway, now total amount of pages read comes to 403. I am pretty proud of myself considering how much of a slump I have been in today. I certainly did get as much read as I had hoped, but whatevs!

I am about to start co-hosting duties. Luckily, I have the GG girls to keep me company (Gallagher, not Gilmore). I have the book on audio so I hope that I will be able to multi-task.

No snacks consumed this hour, but I am going to go get something before I get too busy!

Hour 24 Update -

Well, while cohosting and tweeting from the official readathon account, I have been listening to Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter. I am now on page 189. I will be able to finish it during this last hour so by the end of the challenge, I will have read just over 600 pages. Not my best effort in the readathon, but I am still pretty proud of myself. I am super exhausted and as much fun as I have been having, I cannot wait to get some shut eye! Below is my End of Challenge Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? It was all pretty daunting this time around. I was so tired the whole time. I was doing cohosting during the last few hours so at least the tweeting was keeping me awake.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Umm, anything with action and drama is pretty good. And go with shorter books because the longer books can get discouraging.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Maybe start planning a little earlier so that the word can get out faster/better. Normally I see things about it all over the blogosphere but I didn’t this time around
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The hourly posts were posted timely. It doesn’t always happen like that, so that was pretty good.
  5. How many books did you read? I read two full ones and the last 1/3 of The Hunger Games.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Delirium by Lauren Oliver; Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter; and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Probably The Hunger Games because I started at my favorite part and it is one of my favorite books. Of the other two, I probably enjoyed Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy because I love this series and it is really light and easy going. There is humor in it. Delirium didn’t have that so much
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Well, that leave Delirium, but I didn’t even really dislike it that much. I picked pretty good books this time around.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will definitely participate next time. I will definitely be a reader. I really enjoyed cohosting this time around so I might try to do that again!
 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2012 in 24-Hour Read-a-thon

 

5 responses to “Hours 17 – End of Readathon Running Update

  1. Andrea @ The Overstuffed Bookcase

    April 22, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Glad to see that you’ve made it out of your slump! The Hunger Games will do that! ;)

    I haven’t read the Gallagher Girls series, but I read Heist Society and loved it! So the first GG book is now on my TBR list!

    You’re doing a great job! Way to go! ;)

     
    • kathrynlouw

      April 22, 2012 at 4:17 am

      Oh my goodness, you need to read the Gallagher Girls. I liked Heist Society, but GG is so much better. And I am glad to be out of the slump as well. Hunger Games is definitely a miracle worker like that!

       
  2. Ellie Warren (@patchworkbunny)

    April 22, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Good luck with the co-hosting!

     
    • kathrynlouw

      April 22, 2012 at 4:18 am

      Thank you! It was a lot of fun!!!

       
  3. Nikki Owen

    April 25, 2012 at 10:24 am

    I’m impressed with your read-a-thon! Might look up the Gallagher Girls – done the Hunger Games now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

