RSS

Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List

04 Sep

 

Because there are so many good books out, I am only going to list the ones that are already out, and not the ones that will be coming out in the Fall that I am looking forward to. There are so many books that I have neglected and this is my chance to make it right with them!

  1.  Nevermore by Kelly Creigh. I know, I know, how could I not have read this book already. Haven’t I see the glowing reviews? Haven’t you loved the cover? Doesn’t it just plain sounds intruging. Yes, gosh darn it. Yes to all of that. But it is a bit of a chunkster. And I get intimidated by big books. So I have checked it out over and over again from the library. But this fall, that is going to change. I am going to read it and then I will hopefully love it enough to read the sequel.
  2.  Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey. Yes, yes, I know. Exact same as the above. I am working on it. I will be reading this and the sequel (both of which have been on my shelf collecting dust) this fall. Maybe during the 24-Hour read-a-thon. I cannot wait for that, BTW.
  3.  Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter. Now for this one, I am actually ashamed of the fact that I have not read this one yet. I majorly fan girled the first four books and I legit bought this book on the day it came out… And yet still it sits on my shelf. Why? Because it had been so long since I read Book 4 that I felt that I had to read all of the others first. And then I kept finding other books that needing reading, instead of doing the reread. But I had forgotten so many plot points that I absolutely needed to read them again first. I am currently on Book 3 of rereading I am loving it.
  4.  Insurgent by Veronica Roth. *sigh* This book has fallen victim of a curse I talked about in my last Top Ten Tuesday. I actually own it so it keeps getting pushed aside for library books. I really need to stop going to the library so that I can read some of the books I own at home. I really liked the first book and so now I just need to push aside everything else one Saturday and read this one! I am sure it will be just as great as the first one.
  5.  Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Oh my goodness. I never realized how ashamed this post would make me feel until I started… and I am only half way through. I read and loved Lola and the Boy Next Door. So why haven’t I read this one? I mean everyone has said it is great… But I think part of the problem is that I loved Lola and the Boy Next Door so much that this one will not be able to live up to my ridiculously high expectations. But how could it not? I loved Anna and St. Clair… I think that this is one I just need to bite the bullet and read and I will end up loving it.
  6.  Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. Now I know this one has got to be good. I have seen so many good reviews for it. As a matter of fact, one time I was in church and I heard a boy talking about this book to his friends and telling them they had to read it (and this was a pretty macho group of boys) so it has to be good, right? I have just been procrastinating with this book. I am super looking forward to it.
  7.  Sex With the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics by Eleanor Herman. Now this is a book that several years ago (when I was still in college) I started at one of my excursions to Borders. I really enjoyed it. It was so tragic. I finally checked it out of the library and I am determined to read it all the way this time.
  8.  Little House on the Prairie SERIES by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Many years ago, when I was just a child, my mother used to read us a chapter a night every night before we went to bed. This is something that I have cherished. Lately, I have been wanting to re-read this series that meant so much to me when I was a child. I have forgotten much of what happened and I would love to remember the good times we had as kids snuggled on the coach, listening to my mothers voice. I know it is a bit of a cheat, because there are nine books in the series, but I just lumped it together under this one.
  9.  Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. This is a book I stumbled across in Barnes and Nobles and I had to have it. There wasn’t even really a choice in the matter. I knew I had to own this book and read it. I love the premise of it and the cover and just about everything. I absolutely cannot wait to read it.
  10.  The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. I heard a lot of good things about this book. In fact, of my goodreads friends who have read it, all of them have given it a 5 star rating. Plus the covers really appeal to me. This one isn’t as urgently demanding my attention as some of the others on my list… but it is definitely a series I want to get to a read this Fall.

So what books are you wanting to read this fall? Any on my list that you would recommend over others? Where should I start? Thanks for your input!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Meme, Top Ten Tuesday

 

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List

  1. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz

    September 4, 2012 at 3:07 am

    Little House is a great choice for a fall reread. Enjoy!

    Here’s my Top Ten Books I’m Awaiting This Fall. I hope you will stop by!

     
  2. Jennifer

    September 4, 2012 at 7:32 am

    I’ve been wanting to reread the Little House series too! And also go on a themed road trip, because that would be awesome.

     
  3. Lucy

    September 4, 2012 at 7:50 am

    I’ve heard such good things about Code Name Verity, hope I’ll get to sneak it in this fall too. I liked Poison Study too and I love that you heard boys talking in church about it! Nevermore is a good spooky fall read. Hope you enjoy it and all your fall reads!

     
  4. Rory O'Connor

    September 4, 2012 at 8:33 am

    I too just discovered Nevermore – I am now waiting for my hold to come in at the library. It looks great. I’ve heard a lot about Code Name Verity but haven’t looked into it…

     
  5. stuckinva

    September 4, 2012 at 9:28 am

    The Little House books are among my favorites, ever. The Long Winter got read and read and read and read…it was my favorite of the series, along with Farmer Boy.

     
  6. Vyki

    September 4, 2012 at 10:30 am

    Great choices. I absolutely LOVED Anna and the French Kiss! Here’s my list: http://whatsontheshelf.wordpress.com/2012/09/04/top-ten-tuesday-21/

     
  7. Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea

    September 4, 2012 at 11:24 am

    I loved Anna and the French Kiss! Insurgent is a must read too! I really want to read The Knife of Never Letting Go soon as well, I have it, and I’ve even started reading it, but I never pushed myself to finish it. I really should change that!

    My Top Ten

     
  8. Megan

    September 4, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    AHHH Nevermore is amazing! And I just got Insurgent, I hope it’s as good as Divergent (I heard it is) :D Great list! Here’s mine.

     
    • kathrynlouw

      September 6, 2012 at 5:04 pm

      @Megan – I started Nevermore yesterday and so far, I am finding it really interesting.

       
  9. Quinn

    September 4, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Anna and the French Kiss is wonderful! I think you will enjoy it. I liked Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, but I didn’t love it.

    Happy reading!!!!

    Nice blog name by the way. We must think alike. :)

     
    • kathrynlouw

      September 6, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      Thanks for your advice! I will definitely for sure try to read Anna this fall!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

