RSS

Dewey’s October 2012 Read-A-Thon

10 Oct

This weekend is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon!!!! I don’t know about you, but I am super excited. This is the event I look forward to the most in the year. I mean, seriously, what more can a girl (or boy) ask for than 24 hours of uninterrupted reading and hanging out with fellow readers???

There are a lot of tips out there about how to best handle the readathon. I say, do what makes you happy. I think I would actually get more reading done if I didn’t participate in this event. But I love the social aspect of it. I have thought about, in the past, just turning off my computer and not bothering with updates and mini-challenges. I see some people’s progress updates and I am WAY behind. But I finally came to the realization that I do not participate in this to finish five books (I wish), but rather to have fun.

I guess I will add a couple more hints, though, for any newbies out there who are looking for some tips.

  • Have a variety of books… especially some easy books. At some point, your brain is going to be fried and you are going to want something easy to read. I see some people read Ronald Dahl. I will probably be checking out some Dr. Seuss for when I just need to check my brain out for a little while.
  • Have an audiobook ready. Sometimes I spend the whole hour on the computer. It helps me feel a lot more like I am actually reading if I have an audiobook on at the same time. However, you probably want to make sure that this is a book that you don’t have to pay too much attention to, just in case you get distracted. For example, I will have some Laura Ingalls Wilder audiobooks on hand, as well as Dan Brown… and the only reason I will have the Dan Brown’s on hand is because I have read those all before. Additionally, sometimes I need to give my eyes a rest and audiobooks are great for that. I might get out some crochet and listen to a book for a while.
  • Don’t be afraid to change location. You can get a little stir crazy staying in the same place for 24 hours. By all means, get out. Go to the park and read. Go to the bookstore and read. Go to a coffee house or restaurant and read. Change from coach to chair to bed to floor or whatever else you might need so that you can stay as alert as you need to be.
  • Food… I recommend having a couple of meals prepared ahead of time that either don’t need anything done with them, or they just need to be popped in the oven. In the past I have gotten Papa Murphey’s take and bake so that I just have to pop that in and I am good to go. Having an energy drink or two will help. I need one of those at the start of the readathon (I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON AND 5 AM IS EARLY), as well as in the middle and end. lol. My main problem is that I always buy too much food and I never eat most of it. I am definitely going to try not to make that mistake again this year.
  • Prepare ahead of time. Get your reading space comfy and how you like it. Make sure your snacks and treats are purchased and prepared.
  • GO TO BED EARLY THE NIGHT BEFORE. I am writing that in all caps so that maybe I will pay attention to that. I am a night owl. Even right now, I am writing this at 1 am. Sometimes I only get three house sleep before the readathon. That does not help when you are trying to make it through the readathon. lol. I will say that a shower does sometimes help in waking you back up when you get sleepy. And splashing water on your face.
  • Finally, have fun. If this is like a chore, you won’t have fun.

I will be co-hosting at some point in this event. I am so excited. I hope that I will be seeing you all participating.

I like to try to donate money during this event. My budget is a little tight this year, but I do still like to do what I can for others. This year I will be donating 2 cents a page (I know, it isn’t a lot, but isn’t anything better than nothing?). I will be donating to RAINN (Rape and Incest National Network). This is a charity that is near and dear to my heart. Rape has hit my own family and I wish we had known about this charity at the time. Just some startling stats… 98% of rapists will never spend a day in jail. 54% of sexual assaults are never reported to the police (I know we didn’t). Every 2 minutes in America, someone is sexually assaulted. This is a charity that is there for those people. If you were planning on donating (or you feel like you should donate to some place) and you hadn’t already picked a charity, I urge you to consider this one. 1 out of every 6 (17%) American woman are sexually assaulted. If this was your mother, your sister, your daughter, etc… wouldn’t you want them to have all the help that they could get?

Anyway, I hope to see you in the comments section!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 10, 2012 in 24-Hour Read-a-thon

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

